HBO’s The Staircase Episode 6: Release date, cast, plot and more

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

Ready to see another episode full of crime, mystery, and drama? Read on to find out the latest information on The Staircase Episode 6.

The Staircase is a series based on the 2004 documentary miniseries of the same name created by Jean-Xavier de Lestrade. The series is about the trial of Michael Peterson, who was convicted of murdering his wife, Kathleen Peterson. She was found dead at the bottom of the staircase in their home and after months of trials, Michael Peterson, who was a crime novelist was found guilty and received a sentence of life in prison.

The series debuted on HBO Max on May 5, 2022, and received good reviews and ratings from critics. 5 episodes have already been released by the streamer and fans of the murder mystery are waiting for the sixth episode to know more about what happened in Peterson’s real-life trial.

Here’s everything you need to know about The Staircase Episode 6.

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

When will Episode 6 of The Staircase arrive?

The Staircase Episode 6, Red in Tooth and Claw, will release on Thursday, May 26, 2022.

Check out fans’ reactions to the miniseries below:

The Staircase Episode 5 Recap

The fifth episode starts in April of 2004 when Michael has already served 6 months in prison after the trial. He has a hard time in prison and because of his high-profile and public case, almost every prisoner recognizes him and calls out to him as “staircase”. It also seems like he has been attacked by a prisoner as he has various cut marks on his face.

One prisoner named Big Ray is often sympathetic to him at times and he reveals that Michael quickly learns that it is not possible to stay by himself and he has to join some group to stay safe. As the story progresses, David Rudolf and his team prepare an appeal against the court’s verdict.

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

Michael’s children and brother struggle to pay the lawyers’ fees and they have to sell their household items to raise money. Todd and Clayton visit Michael in the prison and let him know that there is a massive depreciation in their property due to Kathleen’s death. Sophie meets with Denis Prescot and Jean-Xavier who are documenting the whole case and a verbal fight took place as they argue over the portrayal of Michael in the documentary.

The letters exchanged between Sophie and Michael reveal that there was a relationship blooming between the two. On the night of the premiere of the documentary, Jean-Xavier appreciates Sophie’s work despite Denis’s suspicion that she is biased towards Michael. Sophie goes to the US to Michael, who gets informed that he has a visitor and in the end, he finally meets the person who’s been supporting him since he was imprisoned.

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

What can we expect from The Staircase Episode 6?

In The Staircase Episode 6, we expect to see Michael and Sophie’s loving relationship and how she tries to help him in getting out of prison. Also, Larry Pollard, who was seen studying the autopsy report at the end of the last episode can make some major revelations in this episode. Margaret’s reaction after watching the documentary and also what the overall audience perception of the documentary is, are some interesting things to expect from the upcoming episodes.

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

The Staircase Episode 6 Cast

The cast members of The Staircase, who will be appearing in episode 6 are as follows:

Colin Firth As Michael Peterson

Toni Collette As Kathleen Peterson

Sophie Turner As Margaret Ratliff

Patrick Schwarzenegger As Todd Peterson

Odessa Young As Martha Ratliff

Dane DeHaan As Clayton Peterson

Olivia DeJonge As Caitlin Atwater

Michael Stuhlbarg As David Rudolf

Rosemarie DeWitt As Candace Hunt Zamperini

Parker Posey As Freda Black

The Staircase Episode 6
Credits: HBO

How many episodes are there in The Staircase?

There are a total of 8 episodes in the series and it has only 3 episodes left as of May 24, 2022. Here’s a complete list of the episodes:

1. 911
2. Chiroptera
3. The Great Dissembler
4. Common Sense
5. The Beating Heart
6. Red in Tooth and Claw
7. Seek and Ye Shall
8. America’s Sweetheart or: Time Over Time

Where to watch The Staircase?

The Staircase is available to watch on HBO Max.